Is the Hulk Depressed?

If anyone has any reason to be depressed, it’s Bruce Banner (turning into a big, green monster he can’t quite control… pretty depressing). Since he even admits to attempting suicide at one point – he says that he shot himself in the head, and the big guy spit the bullet out –  it seems pretty clear that he’s depressed.

Wait? Doesn’t that mean that he should be lying in bed, energy-less and hiding from the world?

That’s one of the big images associated with depression, but not everyone reacts that way. I do sometimes. Most of the time I get angry. I may not have turned into a huge green beast yet, but the emotion is pretty similar. Oh, I can go from zero to rage in an instant about something stupid and unimportant. It’s one of the warning signs I look out for. Usually, I am a very mellow person with an extremely long fuse (kind of like Bruce Banner…). When I start having hair trigger rage issues, something is wrong, and I need to stop and figure out what’s going on.

"That's my secret, Captain. I'm always angry." -- Bruce Banner
“That’s my secret, Captain. I’m always angry.” — Bruce Banner

What I’ve been wondering about is which is more common. I know people who hide, people who get angry, and people who do both (though I think most of them do one more than the other). Most of the people I know get angry.

Does that mean getting angry is more common? Do I just know angry people? Or is there a little Hulk in all of us?

Leave a Reply

